Talents

The Parable of the Talents (see below) is a well known Parable told by Jesus and is a story about investment. Most versions, talk about talents as a form of currency and biblical scholars talk about it as a gift or actual talent that we have. But what if we view the story in a different way? Not about talents, money or skills that God has given us, but people in our lives. People that we as adults have an influence over. Our children. 
God has given us the gift of children and calls us to invest in them, in their lives and most importantly in their characters. He is trusting us to build them, to help the grow, to work at it so they may bloom. Just like the first two servants do in the Parable. 

I’ve started to read:  30 ways in 30 days to strengthen your family and the very first chapter is a challenge. A challenge to be the best that I can, do invest in my children despite the fact that they’re 24, 12, 11 and 7. Do develop a moral compass that will lead them into the future to be well like respected members of the community. 

As we head into the new school year, I thought I would challenge myself to work through the book. To invest in the talents that I have been given so I may become a better parent and so my children grow into adults with a strong moral compass. 
Realistically, I can’t commit to doing this daily. I also want to have time to incorporate the ideas into my lifestyle. Some I imagine I can do daily, but others might need more investment. Like anything of value, growth takes time. 

I would love it if you could join me on this journey. I will post my thoughts and views as I work my way through the book and I would love your feedback. 
Note: The book is available on Amazon and if you purchase it through my site (click on the image), you will be supporting me on my journey at no extra cost to yourself. Should you do that, a very big thank you from me. 


The Story About Investment 

14-18 “It’s also like a man going off on an extended trip. He called his servants together and delegated responsibilities. To one he gave five thousand dollars, to another two thousand, to a third one thousand, depending on their abilities. Then he left. Right off, the first servant went to work and doubled his master’s investment. The second did the same. But the man with the single thousand dug a hole and carefully buried his master’s money.

19-21 “After a long absence, the master of those three servants came back and settled up with them. The one given five thousand dollars showed him how he had doubled his investment. His master commended him: ‘Good work! You did your job well. From now on be my partner.’

22-23 “The servant with the two thousand showed how he also had doubled his master’s investment. His master commended him: ‘Good work! You did your job well. From now on be my partner.’

24-25 “The servant given one thousand said, ‘Master, I know you have high standards and hate careless ways, that you demand the best and make no allowances for error. I was afraid I might disappoint you, so I found a good hiding place and secured your money. Here it is, safe and sound down to the last cent.’

26-27 “The master was furious. ‘That’s a terrible way to live! It’s criminal to live cautiously like that! If you knew I was after the best, why did you do less than the least? The least you could have done would have been to invest the sum with the bankers, where at least I would have gotten a little interest.

28-30 “‘Take the thousand and give it to the one who risked the most. And get rid of this “play-it-safe” who won’t go out on a limb. Throw him out into utter darkness.’

Matthew 25:14-30

The Message (MSG)


About Cheryl

I am a child of God, a wife and a mother of 4 children. Some days are good. Some days are frustrating. Some days are just plain insane. In between the mayhem, I loved to go for walks with our mutt, potter in the garden and enjoy the beauty that surrounded us. That all changed in August 2012 when we waved goodbye to our mutt and garden, our eldest at Uni in Gloucester and moved to Tokyo for 4 months. And yes- we are still here...
This entry was posted in Good days, Growing as a person, Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment