Goals? Perhaps…perhaps not…

I spent the last few weeks of 2017, reviewing my goals, looking at previous goals I’d made over the years and creating a new set of goals for this year. Looking at the goals that I set, I might as well have copied my goals from 2015.

I had the usual: the weight loss, the reading challenge (50 books!), faith matters… as I said, the usual! 6 categories- Faith, Health, Relationships, Mind, World and Hobbies, with 3 goals in each and a few habits to learn thrown in for luck.

But then we received news that turned everything around. It got me thinking and as we were away skiing, I had plenty of opportunity to digest the news and mull it over. Something that “A” said: ‘We will all die one day, we just have to appreciate what we have.’

As I skied down a particularly stunning slope, I realised that I needed a focus for 2018. Goals are good, habits are very good- but a word based round the goals will keep me focussed. 2017 Mountains proved that one!

And so my focus for 2018 is APPRECIATE- As life is short-be it 80 years, 40 years or 20 years or whatever time God has blessed us with we should appreciate it.

Appreciate our faith
Valuing the relationship we can enjoy with our creator
Worshiping Him,
Learning more about Him.

Appreciate our health-
Whatever stage our health is at.
Appreciating what our body can do,
Caring for our health and body through sleep, exercise, relaxation and so to enable it to take us furtherin our daily lives.

Appreciate our Family and Friends-
Spend time with them,
Keep in regular contact with them.
Create memories

Appreciate our Mind-
Keep the mind stimulated
Develop new skills

Appreciate our World-
Become a better steward of our world.
Explore this wonderful place and appreciate its diversity.

Appreciate our God Given Skills-
Enjoy doing our hobbies.
Use your skills to bless others

It is so easy to not appreciate what we have, especially when everyone else’s life looks picture perfect on Facebook or Instagram. I am hoping and praying that this focus word will help me to grow even more as a person, while still valuing and appreciating who and what I have around me.

Here’s to an appreciative 2018.

About Cheryl

I am a child of God, a wife and a mother of 4 children. Some days are good. Some days are frustrating. Some days are just plain insane. In between the mayhem, I loved to go for walks with our mutt, potter in the garden and enjoy the beauty that surrounded us. That all changed in August 2012 when we waved goodbye to our mutt and garden, our eldest at Uni in Gloucester and moved to Tokyo for 4 months. And yes- we are still here...
This entry was posted in Growing as a person, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment