Mood Tracking in 2018

I’ve started a bullet journal!

Like I truly have the time to add yet another activity onto my to do list! But having researched the bullet journals, I’ve learnt that they are effectively a journal, planner and organiser rolled into one, so I think it could work for me given that I previously have used my mobile, a calendar, my fridge as a Control Center, (though I still might!) and paper/ post it notes. Only time will tell if it will make me more efficient, or it becomes another time stresser….

The one (of the many) area that I am planning on tracking in my bullet journal is my mood. I’ve come off my antidepressants and while I’ve noticed that I’m a lot more short tempered with my children, I think I’m ok… but I want to be sure, otherwise, I’ll head back on.

This article from Buzzfeed is very interesting and informative about tracking moods, but I don’t want to do something that is going to take hours of time. I like the idea of this tracker that the article shares:

as it would assist me in seeing whether my caffeine and alcohol intake have an impact as well as any lack of sleep, but it looks like it’s rather time consuming and I’d rather be focusing on other things at the moment.

Initially I like the Year in Pixels idea, but as my mood on the eve of the 1st January was very different to my mood in the morning, I thought I would head for something that covered both.

So inspired by this mandala version by @livejoyfulandhealthy on Instagram , I got researching…

I liked this tree, https://i.redd.it/gw3ore6xfwjy.jpgso adjusted it and created my own. Using the ideas from the mandala, I went for monitoring my mood over 3 sessions- am, pm and evening. Which in everyday terms is more like: schooltime, after school, evening (when kids are in bed!)

What do you think?

About Cheryl

I am a child of God, a wife and a mother of 4 children. Some days are good. Some days are frustrating. Some days are just plain insane. In between the mayhem, I loved to go for walks with our mutt, potter in the garden and enjoy the beauty that surrounded us. That all changed in August 2012 when we waved goodbye to our mutt and garden, our eldest at Uni in Gloucester and moved to Tokyo for 4 months. And yes- we are still here...
This entry was posted in Good days, Health, Insane days and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment